Exploring, British Humour, and Two Plays

So yesterday was insanely busy. I decided to go find the Twinings store and on the way took a wrong turn and ended up at Somerset house. Which is absolutely breathtaking. Stumbling on something beautiful and unexpected like that is one of the things I love about London. It had art galleries and a terrace café – definitely going back there for lunch. It was funny to see though – young ladies in business suits eating and older ladies drinking wine with lunch – I mean it was 12:00! Apparently that’s pretty normal here though. I’ll post pictures later – they are not on my computer yet.

Twinings itself was so cool! I bought some Jubilee tea – look forward to trying that Nana. I’ve had some of the other blends people have created and they are really good so I wanted to get some by Twinings before it sold out. I had a free cup of tea with Cranberry, Raspberry, and something starting with and Ech which was really good. They are having it in honor of the Queen’s birthday. I will certainly go back – and make sure my camera is working this time.

One of the best parts of my day was listening to British ladies be insulting. It’s hilarious in the accent and funny because of the slang. It was one in here 30’s and one in her 40’s talking about how another woman had nice legs but the middle had gone to pot. One said “It’s all that bread she’s been buttering” and the other “Or all the butter with the bread” It was so bad and yet so funny because to them it was completely dry humor, but I was just trying so hard not to giggle.

Something else funny? I found a sign that said “French pop? As attractive as an inside-out horse” I didn’t get a good picture though. Apparently it’s a quote from a new book.

So the plays: One was The Comedy of Errors in Dari (Afghan Persian) which I think has a ridiculous plot line to begin with and secondly the production was kind of awful. It may be that I thought the plot was just so ridiculous but really I thought the acting left a lot to be desired. I just couldn’t get into it – even the emotional parts. But the crowd seemed to love it – even though it was a pretty small crowd.

The second was Henry VIII in Castilian Spanish. (that’s Spanish from Spain).  They used a Chorus of two men to set the scene as travelling back in time to look at the history – and use our imaginations! It was really wonderfully done. I think having Spanish for the play was a really good decision. And the actors were all very talented. But Hispanics are known as a passionate people – and that passion really came through. Even being historical – which often seems like it could be boring – it was really fun to watch. By the end I was thinking about how the woman who played Catherina of Aragon and Enrique VIII would have made a great Lady Macbeth and Macbeth. And the supporting actors would have filled out that cast well. I would have loved to see this company do any number of Shakespeare’s plays considering all the talent on stage – not just the main two. And Wolsey (the evil character) would make a great villain Iago (from Othello). They used stage props and a band that played catholic music to really propel the plot wonderfully. Even the execution scene was good – throwing a cloth over the guy’s head  and then “cutting” it off. The man made you really believe in his cause before he was executed too.

So: some Shakespeare is good, and some is really really bad.

2 thoughts on “Exploring, British Humour, and Two Plays

  1. About the cranberry-raspberry ech—- tea—- could the ech mean echaneasia? I’m not too sure of the spelling but it comes from the Purple Coneflower which I have in my garden. I also have had tea made from it. It is suppose to ward off the common cold. Your pictures and comments about the plays etc, are a joy to read. Some of the sites I remember as we were there. Enjoy it all but stay safe. Love you.

Leave a Reply

