A Soldier in Every Son

MondayI went to Stratford-Upon-Avon to see A Soldier in Every Son, a play commissioned by the RSC (I didn’t even know they do that) for this year’s World Shakespeare Festival. It encompassed decades of history between different tribes including the Aztecs. I had a bit of trouble keeping the others straight despite the clear differences in costume (they dressed one tribe in blue, the Aztecs in black and red, but the other two I kept getting confused on). While I sometimes am bored by a historical play about who killed (read: Richard III) who this was done in a very compelling way. I guess in a way you are able to connect to the characters in this play and have feelings of who should emerge triumphant. Part of that was by not knowing how it would end (whereas I knew Richard III would kill anyone in his way and then be murdered himself), but I think part of it was the casting and acting. The actors played multiple parts (except a few major players) the best example being a man who played both father and son as time went on – he was the young father in the first act and the grown son in the second act. Some needed to remain in character because the character lived that long basically. Often an actor would die in one role and come back on stage in a few minutes in a new role. I hope I’m not confusing anyone by how I’m writing this. Basically it was amazing and I’ve very thankful I came back to see it. Thanks to Kevin (member of the RSC) for recommending it as well.

I’ve also included a few odd pictures (along with those of the A Soldier in Every Son set) – first some of places I visited in Stratford, some of the RSC lobby with the new writing on the wall exhibit, and then some of the night view from a double-decker bus. I’ve been on them but only late at night when the tube stops running. This was the first time I had ridden on the second level though. None of these pictures are in order however.

One thought on “A Soldier in Every Son

Leave a Reply

